I figured that I could combine the last two since I don't think CW has much to offer. Does it ever though? First, I will start with Fox. To be honest, I watch Fox on one night of the week and that is Sunday for Family Guy and The Cleveland Show and perhaps an episode or so of The Simpsons during the season. Fox to an extent is still on the edge of what they air as compared to other major networks. However, they are just as guilty as others for axing shows before an audience can build and then keep shows that apparently make no sense to keep. Anyway, I don't have much ramblings about Fox. So here are the new shows:
New Shows:
Allen Gregory: An animated show from Jonah Hill about a young boy with two dads. Like I said Fox is on the edge and do a lot with animation, but even I have a point to say they have gone to far. Of course, though I keep thinking how crazy Family Guy could go with the idea. The show has been given a green light for 13 episodes. I think it is a long shot to think all 13 will air before it gets cancelled and moves to Adult Swim. I could be wrong, I would have figured last year that Bob's Burgers were cooked and they kept it. So who knows.
Napoleon Dynamite: Ok, so there is going to be an animated series based on the movie from like seven years go. Wow, talk about digging deep. I never watched the movie, but I feel that if Jon Heder has only this character as his fame moment that he has to suck the living blood out of it to survive. Ugh! I rather wait for The Flintstones remake from Seth MacFarlane. DOA for Napoleon!
Terra Nova: Fox really hit it big with sci-fi fans with the X-Files and I think Terra Nova will be their next big hit. For some reason this summer, I kept thinking this was going to be the show that aired on TNT which, I was wrong and that was Falling Skies. Which I loved! Sci-fi can be done and done perfectly. I have very high hopes for this show. My concern is the placement on Mondays. It is going up against CBS's comedy lineup which could show a crack if Two and a Half Men flop and also ABC's Dancing with the Stars early on. I know that I will probably have to break out the VCR in another room since the DVR will be dominated by the previously mentioned programs (my wife just has to watch Z-list celebs dance).
New Girl: I am up in the air about this show. I won't watch it, but Zooey is a very popular celeb these days and it could be a surprise hit. I hear a lot of buzz about it online, but I haven't heard anyone I know talk about it.
X-Factor: As if TV needs another talent show or Fox for that matter. It will be big just because of it being Simon Cowell's new baby. I know the original British version is huge based on how Graham Norton talks about it a lot. The wife will probably watch it. I won't. I say it will be here for a while.
Ahh...The CW, the bastard child of The WB and UPN. The network for whats left. My biggest issue really stems from how in my television market that UPN never came fully here until 2004 in order for me to actually watch as it originally aired the last season of Star Trek ever to be on television. I think that was a big issue with at least UPN that they weren't in every market. Our local Fox station aired the UPN programs all over the place and moved Voyager and Enterprise around that only a dedicated fan would stick to it to ensure he could watch his shows.
The CW lost its major, in my eyes, show this past season with the end of Smallville, the last of the WB remains. I stopped watching Smallville after the third season. Not because I was bored of the show, just had other things to watch. This network is pretty much a show for tweens and teens and the early twenties crowd or those crazy women in the 30s that act like teens and like vampire shows.
New Shows:
Hart of Dixie: At first from the name I thought it was a spin-off of the Dukes of Hazzard. I was wrong. A doctor that moves away from the big city to the rural south to find work and more than likely love. Oh, please...doubt it will last if this were to air on a bigger network, but this is the same combination of the WB that kept Dawson's Creek and Gilmore Girls running for what seemed like an eternity.
Ringer: The Parent Trap meets whatever twist concept of drama that can be imagined from an MTV reality show is what this seems like. It will probably be the bigger hit for The CW with Buffy star Gellar coming back to her TV roots playing both the roles of twin sisters. Apparently, there is a lack of twin celebrities out that that they figured to save money with one person playing both? This will be here for CW for a while I fear.
H8R: The show where even lesser brand stars than what Dancing with the Stars get will confront people that don't like them. Ugh, if they were to do that with me I would never get to leave the house there would be such a line out my door. I think this is an interesing premise and may last a while, but will get stale. Also, Mario Lopez is the host, hmmm hate the host and more than likely will agree with the celebrities others hate that are featured like Snooki. Lord, why won't those tanned idiots just fall off the earth?
Secret Circle: Going back to its WB roots along with bringing back Gellar is a show about a woman who finds out she is a witch. Hmm...what next her uncle is a vampire...oh, wait they have a vampire show already on the CW that airs right before it. This will get those interested in all things stupid like Twilight interested.
So there you have it. Pretty much 95% of the shows this coming season are in my eyes are crap. Rehashed and recycled. Too bad this really isn't considered being green. I don't want people to think I am such a hard nosed person who doesn't like anything. I do. I watch reality tv shows more than I did before and I like great written dramas like Parenthood. TV wonders why people are not watching like they are aside from other things that people can do or watch instead. How about letting actual TV viewers pick shows for their upfronts and pilot season. I mean what could it hurt? Apparently, not much because we won't be seeing many of these shows in the 2012 returning shows lineup.
However, I think, overall, CW will be the network that retains most of the new shows because of who they are geared to and who their target audience is. I think they get their audience and plans accordingly, but sadly most of America won't be watching the CW.


No comments:
Post a Comment