I thought I would give myself a little bit of time before writing this review. I saw Cheech and Chong live last week in Fort Wayne at the Embassy Theatre. I had been looking forward to seeing them ever since I purchased the tickets back in July. Before going any further I want to explain that I have never smoked pot, but have been around plenty of people that have smoked in front of me and I could never even imagine myself touching the stuff.
My evening started with finding a location in the parking garage to park and immediately was hit with a wall of stench that was of course pot. So I knew even if I was lost I was going to the right place. After getting to the front of the Embassy to meet up with my friend, I was stopped by Indiana pro-pot people. I told them I was not interested and continued on inside. Chong's wife Shelby (who is quite attractive) opened for the pair and had some very great jokes referring to pot growing in the house, her first time tripping out, meeting Chong and his time in jail for selling Chong-Bongs.
Then after her routine the boys came out for Q and A from questions that the audience gave Shelby. The most important question, I felt that of course was answered in a way that got a laugh, but not really answered was why did they break up. Chong said he realized they were broken up after he saw a Cheech and Chong movie that didn't have Chong in it and thought that they were on a long vacation of 4 years. Shelby talked about how Cheech went onto animation and other roles like in Nash Bridges which brought applause. Cheech didn't say much other than acknowledging his acting outside of Cheech and Chong. It could be assumed that since Chong wanted to keep on with the pot lifestyle that Cheech wanted to go about his own path and not just be known as the other half of the marijuana duo. That is not to say that Chong didn't make a come back. He did play the character Leo in That's 70's Show, basically playing himself and was quite surprised that none of the cast smoked pot and it was all fake pot on the show that got smoked in the basement scenes.
Of course they did some songs and even did the "Dave" bit and "Let's Make a Pot Deal" and Cheech dressed up in a tutu playing his character from Up In Smoke. All of these bits got me laughing and enjoying every minute of being able to see these comic legends. However, they started getting on the legalize pot in Califonia soap box (which I know is the platform which made them famous). We are in Indiana, I don't think there is much that can be done on our part here to get it passed in California and Chong kept saying pot is the safest drug out there to do and even went on to say that God was a pot head and used references from the Bible to prove his point (quite funny, I might add) since he had plenty of time during the 9 months he was in jail to read. I would have to disagree pot is not safe. There are children, born from mothers that smoked pot during pregnancy, that have health and other issues due to exposure in the womb. If people need and want their pot for medical use for legit reasons, by all means let it be for people that must need it not just because of wanting to get high. There has to be a difference. If it was so safe why is K2 getting banned since that is a fake pot?
The other thing that irked me was how they touched upon immigration law. I understand they have a large minority following and the minority works do a lot of jobs that we probably couldn't imagine or would want to do, but this show (in my opinion) wasn't for them to push their political agenda on the audience. I didn't pay to hear this. I could have done for some more of their comedy that made them famous. I can't remember exactly how it started, but Chong did touch briefly upon how bad the current times are with the economy. Well, duh! This non-new statement was shortly followed by Shelby stating at the end of the show both Cheech and Chong would have meet and greets with the audience...at a price. The proceeds would go to a local food bank. The price you ask? For one person $80.00 and a couple $150.00!!! The prices for licensed merchandise was even a bit much for people's wallets as well. What didn't Chong just say times were tough and they want people to pay that much just to meet them for a few minutes after paying $50.00 plus (this is even after having "cheap seats" with all of the convenience fees added) and get their picture taken as well? I understand that the food bank would be quite happy, but I think you would get more people and money if the prices were lower. I understand the draw and appeal of Cheech and Chong, but this is 2010 not the late 1970s or even early 1980s and the Embassy was not sold out for this show. Right there tells you that their draw or money was the reason for people not coming Needless to say that I and my friend did not spend any money to meet them and left after the show ended.
I wouldn't trade or wish that I didn't go to this show. I don't think this area would get a chance to see them in person let alone "live" again after it had been 20 years from when they last visited the Fort Wayne area. I am glad I got to see this pair live and my opinion of their recorded comedy and at least Up in Smoke won't change my opinion of what they built together, but I have to say I am disappointed that they didn't live up that standard last week.
No comments:
Post a Comment