Welcome to the Media Guy Reviews!




Sunday, September 18, 2011

Review: Thor

As I mentioned at the end of my review for X-Men: First Class, that watching Thor on Blu-Ray would be really my first time watching it. I was right. I saw this opening weekend in 3D and aside from the feeling I didn't get a choice at the theatre to see it in 2D I am glad I saw it now. The 3D in the film I felt didn't enhance the film it actually took away from it. I had to focus on the people coming out from the screen and then miss a lot of the great visuals in the film that lay far back. 

I rarely if ever read comics as a kid and yet I am completely loving these comic book films. I didn't know anything about the mythos of Thor and every time his home of Asgard was mentioned, I kept thinking of the grey aliens from Stargate and their own story that I kept waiting for the Richard Dean Anderson to show up with his Thor. Of course unlike X-Men, Thor is one of the other heroes to be featured in the upcoming Avengers in 2012. The feature on the Blu-Ray about the Avengers didn't really have me begging for more as opposed to why have that feature on the disc. It really didn't give me more information or teased me it mocked the viewers. We got more of a tease and then some at the end of Captain America. Which to be honest  that was the only good thing about that film.  I only watched one other special feature so far and that was from Asgard to Earth and the work the crews did to make the visuals was stunning. Which supports my case that 3D ruined it the first time around.

I liked the balance of humor in the film and sometimes it was a bit cliched like Thor getting hit by Natalie Portman for the second time while driving or backing up for that matter. Also, how Stan Lee was featured for that brief few seconds trying to to pull Thor's hammer from the ground with his pickup truck was a bit thrill. There was one moment in the film that I felt left me creeped out and it wasn't meant to be that way, but it just didn't come across well and that was close to the end with Thor and his mother. When Thor walked past his mother she watched as he went away and she had a look in eyes and face that made me think she had more than just motherly feelings for her son. I love Rene Russo and I saw the interview she did promoting the film on Jay Leno and how she as a person admired how handsome Chris Hemsworth is and had to remember she was playing his mother. Apparently, she forgot that in that scene.

I still hold X-Men: First Class as the shining light and top of the ladder for the best comic book movie from this summer and Thor would come in second. I do recommend this for anyone wanting a good action movie mixed with the right amount of humor. Like I said I didn't know anything about Thor and enjoyed it. Another plus for Thor in my book is that the Blu-Ray played without issue.

Thursday, September 15, 2011

Review: X-Men: First Class

I was excited to see that this was the first summer hit to be released on Blu-ray. To me this was the best comic book film out of all four this summer and the second to be released over the summer in theatres.

My primary rant about the movie is primarily about the issues I ran into trying to watch the movie on my Blu-Ray player. I have heard and read that the Samsung Blu-ray players have problems with some discs. I was afraid after messing with the player and trying to update it Friday night that I would have to return the Blu-ray copy and get it on DVD. Needless to say I did give up. The issue was that it took longer than normal for the Blu-ray disc to load and when it did I would get to the title menu without any options to play the movie or go to the special features. After being fed up late Friday night into early Saturday morning ( even after having contacted Samsung's online chat help) I went to bed. The player wouldn't load an update that it needed and for some reason I wasn't having luck burning a CD with the update correctly. So I was ready to take the movie back to the store. I even read on Amazon.com that other people who owns a Samsung Blu-ray player was having difficulties.

The following day I went to show my wife the problem of what I happening with the disc. The disc still loaded slowly to the menu and surprisingly the menu options showed up and I could watch the movie. I haven't had the problem since aside from being the longest disc to load.

I really don't have a lot of negative things to say about X-Men: First Class as a movie. I like the flow of the film and the story line. I did notice some continuity gaps in the movie from the previous X-men films. Most of the movie's fans will know what I am talking about that it doesn't fit correctly with established cannon from the other films. SPOILER ALERT!!! (Example, Professor X was bald and walking when he saved the mutant children from 3-mile Island at the end of Wolverine and Prof X has full hair and is in a wheel chair and has a full head of hair at the end of First Class and Emma Frost was among the rescued and was much younger in Wolverine than she was in First Class and was not a part of the school since it just started in First Class).

Although, I read that this is a reboot of the films and doesn't need to fit into what is supposed to come after. Which is alright if that is what the film makers want to do. I mean rebooting is the trend now. However, on the opposite side of the coin is that there is going to be a sequel to the Wolverine prequel that kind of mucks up that explanation. So hopefully there will be First Class 2 to explain and cover up some of the gaps.

The only real disappointment I have is the fact that the other three comic book films didn't live up to the expectations I had. I did see Thor before X-Men: First Class and I was blown away by it and I think I held that expectation against Green Latern and Captain America. Although, I will review Thor next after I watch it for what I will consider the first time. I saw Thor in 3D and I think that took away from the movie.

Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Prediction: Fox and CW 2011

I figured that I could combine the last two since I don't think CW has much to offer. Does it ever though? First, I will start with Fox. To be honest, I watch Fox on one night of the week and that is Sunday for Family Guy and The Cleveland Show and perhaps an episode or so of The Simpsons during the season. Fox to an extent is still on the edge of what they air as compared to other major networks. However, they are just as guilty as others for axing shows before an audience can build and then keep shows that apparently make no sense to keep. Anyway, I don't have much ramblings about Fox. So here are the new shows:

New Shows:

Allen Gregory: An animated show from Jonah Hill about a young boy with two dads. Like I said Fox is on the edge and do a lot with animation, but even I have a point to say they have gone to far. Of course, though I keep thinking how crazy Family Guy could go with the idea. The show has been given a green light for 13 episodes. I think it is a long shot to think all 13 will air before it gets cancelled and moves to Adult Swim. I could be wrong, I would have figured last year that Bob's Burgers were cooked and they kept it. So who knows.

Napoleon Dynamite: Ok, so there is going to be an animated series based on the movie from like seven years go. Wow, talk about digging deep. I never watched the movie, but I feel that if Jon Heder has only this character as his fame moment that he has to suck the living blood out of it to survive. Ugh! I rather wait for The Flintstones remake from Seth MacFarlane. DOA for Napoleon!

Terra Nova: Fox really hit it big with sci-fi fans with the X-Files and I think Terra Nova will be their next big hit. For some reason this summer, I kept thinking this was going to be the show that aired on TNT which, I was wrong and that was Falling Skies. Which I loved! Sci-fi can be done and done perfectly. I have very high hopes for this show. My concern is the placement on Mondays. It is going up against CBS's comedy lineup which could show a crack if Two and a Half Men flop and also ABC's Dancing with the Stars early on. I know that I will probably have to break out the VCR in another room since the DVR will be dominated by the previously mentioned programs (my wife just has to watch Z-list celebs dance). 

New Girl: I am up in the air about this show. I won't watch it, but Zooey is a very popular celeb these days and it could be a surprise hit. I hear a lot of buzz about it online, but I haven't heard anyone I know talk about it.

X-Factor: As if TV needs another talent show or Fox for that matter. It will be big just because of it being Simon Cowell's new baby. I know the original British version is huge based on how Graham Norton talks about it a lot. The wife will probably watch it. I won't. I say it will be here for a while.


Ahh...The CW, the bastard child of The WB and UPN. The network for whats left. My biggest issue really stems from how in my television market that UPN never came fully here until 2004 in order for me to actually watch as it originally aired the last season of Star Trek ever to be on television. I think that was a big issue with at least UPN that they weren't in every market. Our local Fox station aired the UPN programs all over the place and moved Voyager and Enterprise around that only a dedicated fan would stick to it to ensure he could watch his shows. 
The CW lost its major, in my eyes, show this past season with the end of Smallville, the last of the WB remains. I stopped watching Smallville after the third season. Not because I was bored of the show, just had other things to watch. This network is pretty much a show for tweens and teens and the early twenties crowd or those crazy women in the 30s that act like teens and like vampire shows.

New Shows:

Hart of Dixie: At first from the name I thought it was a spin-off of the Dukes of Hazzard. I was wrong. A doctor that moves away from the big city to the rural south to find work and more than likely love. Oh, please...doubt it will last if this were to air on a bigger network, but this is the same combination of the WB that kept Dawson's Creek and Gilmore Girls running for what seemed like an eternity.

Ringer: The Parent Trap meets whatever twist concept of drama that can be imagined from an MTV reality show is what this seems like. It will probably be the bigger hit for The CW with Buffy star Gellar coming back to her TV roots playing both the roles of twin sisters. Apparently, there is a lack of twin celebrities out that that they figured to save money with one person playing both? This will be here for CW for a while I fear.

H8R: The show where even lesser brand stars than what Dancing with the Stars get will confront people that don't like them. Ugh, if they were to do that with me I would never get to leave the house there would be such a line out my door. I think this is an interesing premise and may last a while, but will get stale. Also, Mario Lopez is the host, hmmm hate the host and more than likely will agree with the celebrities others hate that are featured like Snooki. Lord, why won't those tanned idiots just fall off the earth?

Secret Circle: Going back to its WB roots along with bringing back Gellar is a show about a woman who finds out she is a witch. Hmm...what next her uncle is a vampire...oh, wait they have a vampire show already on the CW that airs right before it. This will get those interested in all things stupid like Twilight interested.

So there you have it. Pretty much 95% of the shows this coming season are in my eyes are crap. Rehashed and recycled. Too bad this really isn't considered being green.  I don't want people to think I am such a hard nosed person who doesn't like anything. I do. I watch reality tv shows more than I did before and I like great written dramas like Parenthood. TV wonders why people are not watching like they are aside from other things that people can do or watch instead. How about letting actual TV viewers pick shows for their upfronts and pilot season. I mean what could it hurt? Apparently, not much because we won't be seeing many of these shows in the 2012 returning shows lineup.

However, I think, overall, CW will be the network that retains most of the new shows because of who they are geared to and who their target audience is. I think they get their audience and plans accordingly, but sadly most of America won't be watching the CW.




Prediction: ABC Fall 2011

ABC is hard for me to really comment on. I haven't been a follower of ABC programs in a long time. I think ABC has become the Lifetime Network for broadcast television. Not that it is a bad thing, but ABC, to me, seems like it is geared more towards women. The opposite probably can be said for Fox programming being more like Spike TV. As I mentioned before in my predicitions, ABC, really ticked me off on how they handled the last two years of The Drew Carey Show, that after that I really gave up on the network. My wife loves ABC from Good Morning America to Dancing with the Stars and Extreme Makeover Home Edition and Weight Loss Edition (I think that was its name).  ABC has lost, in my opinion,  what made it great for families and that is the TGIF lineup. I know they brought it back, but with horrible, horrible sitcoms that was just another reason for them to abandon the concept again. So without me going on and on about how I loathe ABC here is my predictions for their fall lineup.

New Shows:

Last Man Standing: Tim Allen's return to the sitcom world after Home Improvement made him a star. The show is about how man is lost in the world of the woman. How fitting it is on ABC. Instead of sons, Allen's character has daughters and he works as an executive at a sporting goods company. It seems to me that they just changed a few things around from the idea for Home Improvement to make it seem different. I haven't seen any promos for the show yet. If I am wrong and it does go in a different direction than Home Improvement it may be the opportunity for men to sample ABC again. If I am right this won't make it a full season. I hope it does work out, I love Tim Allen and grew up watching Home Improvement. We'll just have to wait and see.

Man Up: It does seem like ABC wants to get guys watching their network. Apparently, the idea of making a sitcom based on the Geico Cavemen didn't win people over so they are trying to be more modern in trying to attract that male demographic. It is has a scent if not flavor of women on this program. The show is about guys who don't want to grow up, but yet need to "Man Up" I hate that phrase. Women will probably watch it just because they can say, "yeah, my guy is like that". Like Allen's new show, I don't know if these half-brained ideas are going to work to bring men back to the network.

Suburgatory: This show seems like a blend of many different shows along with a splash of Desperate Housewives dealing with the strange goings on in the local neighborhood. I hate to sound like I don't like everything these networks are offering, but I just have specific tastes. Also, I know that the viewing public knows that if the show doesn't seem to be interesting they won't watch it for fear of the timeslot getting changed or the show yanking it off the air after an episode or two without trying to build an audience (for any program). Rehash-rehash-rehash destined for the trash.

Revenge: This show has two movie ideas that seem blatant to me for the premise, which isn't a bad thing, I like both of the movies. The show has Taken and Edge of Darkness feel to it. A woman going after the people that destroyed her family. I probably won't get to watch this, but I think this show has potential if it played similar to how Alias in the first few seasons started with slowly getting to the build up. Once she finds the people it goes down hill. The writers have a lot to work towards if they don't want to blow it.

Charlie's Angels: Apparently, remakes are a good thing. I never grew up with the original show or watched much to know that it wasn't for me. Don't get me wrong I think it was and still is a clever idea of a group of kick-butt female crime fighters. Drew Barrymore is behind the show, since she was in the two remake movies. I think this one has a good chance of staying if they do try to modernize it even more than the two movies.

Once Upon a Time: Similar to Grimm on NBC this show seems to be taking a page from that Disney movie a few years back where fairy tale characters come to the real world and it has a bit of a mystery feel to it. I think this will get a strong start, but fantasy programs never really worked for ABC. I give it hope, but fear it will get eatten alive being on Sundays with football and Fox's animation lineup. However, this could be a good thing putting this on Sundays as the alternative to those for women.

Pan Am: I think Mad Men started the trend in making shows about the 60s. I don't know if people will "take flight" with what seems to be a limited premise of the life of flight attendents in this period of time. I could be wrong. I think that more than likely this will be a surprise hit for the network because I tend to be wrong on what other people like in television. What I tend to like gets cancelled, so maybe I should start liking Dancing with the Stars...nah! I need to snap back to reality.The only time I enjoy Dancing is when this happens (sign that the show is pure evil):



With Desperate Housewives ending this season, which to me I thought it was over a long time ago and I don't hear people talking about Grey's Anatomy as much as when it was first on, ABC has a way to go to rebuild themselves. They don't have the force of Lost to give them an edge. Even with the return of Allen and the premise of two of the new dramas, it won't bring me back to the network.

Next blog: FOX and CW

Monday, August 29, 2011

Prediction: NBC Fall 2011

NBC has dropped, big time. Must-See-TV was stolen from them by CBS with CSI on Thursdays years ago and really it hasn't recovered. Aside from the whole Late Night battle that occurred last year that drew attention, it seems that every year is a building from the ground up sort of year for programming.

I will admit that I have watched more NBC in the last two years than I have in a long time. The Marriage Ref and Who Do You Think You Are? are some pretty good additions and changes to what has been a stale offering of programs. Another highlight is Parenthood. Which I am happy it got renewed for a third sesaon. I was disappointed that Outsourced didn't make it back. It has to be one of the best workplace comedies in the last few years. Sorry, The Office, you are boring to me.

New Shows:

The Playboy Club: This show has promise! I think with all of the shows that are set in 60's this one has the potential to be a hit for NBC. As long as NBC doesn't bounce around the timeslot, it should be fine. I like Eddie Cibrian from his year on CSI: Miami. To be honest the show didn't have to be set in a Playboy club to have gotten me interested in it (because I sure know that The Girls Next Door didn't get me interested). I think if the writing is good and the acting is strong this will be around for a while.

Up All Night: DOA! Sorry to say it, but Christina Applegate hasn't had a good track record with television after Married...With Children ended. Also, what is it with NBC pushing and placing every out of work SNL performer on their shows? Seriously? What does Loren Michaels have over the brass at NBC? Isn't it enough that Jimmy Fallon is still on late night tv and the very unfunny, in my opinion, Tina Fey still roams the halls of 30 Rock? The premise will get old...fast and Mya Rudolph was unforgettable in Bridesmaids.

Free Agents: Similar to the above, I don't see this show lasting. What I don't understand is how pilots are selected. Are they chosen based on who wrote it, directed it or starring in it? Because Hank Azaria should stick to voicing his characters on the Simpsons and be done with it.  These programs that get picked up don't seem, to me, that they have sustainability. The premise is limited and they will get written into a corner. Also, according to TV Guide this is a British remake. The last one that comes to my mind, aside from The Office,  was Coupling that NBC did which ended up the show using the same British scripts and just changing the Brit-slang to American Slang. I am not saying British remakes are all bad, but this won't last.

Whitney: I have to give credit to an extent to NBC for trying to regain ground with sitcoms. However, I think most people don't know who Whitney Cummings is aside from being labeled a whore from all of the Comedy Central Roasts or if it all. Granted she is funny in small doses, but a sitcom is not small enough.  Out of all the sitcoms this season, I give this one the best chance of lasting, only because it has been a long time since there has been a sitcom centered around a stand-up comedian. She is a far cry from Cosby, Roseanne, Drew Carey and Tim Allen.

Prime Suspect: A new cop show that escapes NBC from having it a Law & Order series. I don't have much to add to this. I am not familiar with Maria Bello, but apparently she is known well enough to keep mentioning her name in the promo spots. I think along with The Playboy Club this will stay.

Grimm: Sc-fi Fantasy shows haven't done well on network TV because it is such a niche market. Unless, it is about vampires or werewolves (puke). Also, ABC is doing something along the same lines or at least keeping with a fairytale background. My interest is peaked and hope this does well. I just won't hold my breath.

Similar to my commentary about CBS regarding CSI, the same can be said for Law & Order SVU. This will mark the first time since the late 90s that NBC will only have one Law & Order series in production. I just recently got into the show, my DVR is filled with reruns from USA. The writing is beyond compare, but two actors are not returing this year. Christopher Meloni and BD Wong. Wong is going to be a lead in a different cop show. Also, Hargitay is having a reduced role similar to Helgenberger from CSI from reports that make it seem that this is a going to be a building up year for the show. I hope this doesn't go away either, I probably won't get a chance to catch them as they air. NBC has been axing L & O left and right from the original show after 20 years, why not give them that 21st season to say the beat Gunsmoke? That would be a great honor, but they wanted something new and got Los Angeles last year and retooled it then cancelled it in its first year. Loyal L & O fans I am rooting for you.

Next Blog: ABC

Sunday, August 28, 2011

Prediction: CBS Fall 2011

I thought I would start off before the new season starts on my predictions for the new shows and a bit of commentary on the network. My first prediction is the with the CBS network. All of my predictions are either based on three things, either the blurb explaining the premise of the show from the network or elsewhere online or from previews I have seen for the program and what I enjoy as television programming. Also, CBS as it has for the past few years have had very slots to fill with their success of programming so finding its next big hit may be hard compared to what is already there and established.

First, of all, CBS has been my go-to network for quite a few years especially with the three CSI shows, How I Met Your Mother and The Big Bang Theory. I was a test audience member in Las Vegas in 2000 for the first CSI, five months before it aired and then once at the CBS Television City section of the MGM Grand in 2005 for How I Met Your Mother around a month before it aired.

New Shows:

2 Broke Girls: Apparently TV wants to cater and remind people that most of us are living in a recession and have limited funds and decided to green light a show about two broke, working girls (no, not that type) in a diner type setting. TV Guide mentioned it as "like Laverne and Shirley". Well, that show was funny. To me the idea of women working in a diner was done before, it was called "Alice" a classic in my book. My opinion is that since CBS is hyping the crap out of it that they hope it will succeed. They did the same thing to S#*T my Dad Says and that didn't return. I don't see this show lasting beyond one season if that.

Unforgettable: This show has a Cold Case feeling to it. The show about the woman who remembers every last detail sounds like a guy's worst nightmare. CBS has truly become the crime-fighting cop show network. I think it has promise. I say a full season guaranteed.

Person of Interest: The show has promise since it has two familar names behind it JJ Abrams and Christopher Nolan's brother, Jonathan. The show about preventing future crimes to me sounds like the Tom Cruise movie. I am not a Tom Cruise fan and JJ Abrams for the most part has had a good run with his programs (I haven't watched many of them), but it is a rehashed idea and Undercovers bombed last year. Its a gamble in my eyes. I think the network will see it fail and decide it is a crime to keep it on the network a full season.

How to be a Gentleman: TV Guide says it is a new updated Odd Couple in a sense. Eh...no two actors can ever be Mathau and Lemmon from the classic movie, hell even Randall and Clugman. This will go away faster than Cop Rock did.

A Gifted Man: A doctor that sees his dead ex-wife. What is it with CBS taking shows that are rehashes? Seriously they took Medium after NBC trashed it and then gave it a full season and a shortened additional season. It won't last.


I don't see these shows really sticking out like Mike & Molly did last season. As I stated CBS is pretty solid with its programs so it may not hurt them if none of them make it beyond this season or even to the winter break. My main concern is with the original CSI. I think if CBS plays it right that this series can be the powerhouse it once was and can live as long if not longer than Law & Order did for NBC. The changes that are coming this season have me worried. I understand why they went with Ted Danson, he is a grand departure from William Petersen and Laurence Fishburne in terms of the leading guy. However, they are replacing theatre trained actors with Sam Malone! I haven't seen Danson's dramatic work so I can be completely wrong and I hope I am!

Rumors online state that Marg Helenberger is leaving earlier this season instead of staying until the end even if she wasn't in every episode due to perhaps the downgrade of the position for her character for the arrival of Danson. Also, this is the first season since CSI started in the Fall of 2000 that it is not in the 9:00 pm slot on Thursdays. I had my concerns last year when CBS moved CSI: Miami and CSI: NY and they came close to biting the dust. The move of time slots and the departure of their second leading male star for the show and soon their leading female star has disaster waiting to happen written all over it. I hope it survives.

The elephant in the room so to speak is Two and a Half Men. I haven't had much of an opinion on this since I have only seen a handful of episodes. What I saw I enjoyed, but I am hardly a loyal fan. I know that The Drew Carey Show faltered in their last two years when the actress that played Kate left and they introduced "an old crush" of Drew's as the new love interest. Also, ABC screwed around with the time slot that pretty much killed it. (I know I should save this for my ABC prediction blog commentary). Even though they didn't replace the main character like Two and a Half Men is doing, Drew Carey's job changed, other actors had reduced roles and killed what made it great. I know with 'Men' that so much attention is going to be focused on Ashton Kutcher and the absence of Sheen and how he compares or doesn't compare.

I think the real focus should be aside from seeing how goofy of death Charlie Harper will be explained is can Jon Cryer carry the show? He is funny, but he is a second bananna. Nothing against him, but I think adding Kutcher could an interesting turn in direction for the show, but Cryer I don't think can take the weight of the show on his shoulders. I am not on Sheen's or Lorre's side in the whole story that got beaten into the ground earlier this year, but unless Cryer with help from Kutcher boosts the show beyond the first few weeks it is going to be DOA.

Next blog: NBC.

Wednesday, August 17, 2011

Commentary: Pick-Pocketed by the Media

It seems lately due to the current state of the economy that everyone, corporations included, are trying to find ways to tighten their belts. Some of the results are, of course, cutting back on employee benefits, insurance, paid time off, or even withholding raises. The extreme case would be of course laying off people or closing locations. Last year, my place of employment closed the local location as a cost-cutting measure. Thankfully, due in large part to my mother-in-law had helped me get a job interview two days after the closing and I had a new job three weeks later.

However, this commentary is not about looking for jobs; it is about how companies are doing everything they can to justify nickle and diming (or in this case due to inflation quartering and dollaring) the consumer. Case-in-point, I received in the mail this week information from AT&T that starting in October they are increasing the cost of the insurance on phones from $4.99 to $6.99 a month. Which honestly $2.00 isn't a lot, but what happened to the days of when a company stood behind their product and services? Not many. Even my previous employer placed consumers over a barrel with their "limited lifetime warranty"  which meant they would sell a consumer a replacement component (refurbished or in other words a used not always guaranteed a long lasting replacement) for a fee that depending on the product could range from $30.00 and up. The replacement would come with a 90-day warranty and if the replacement stopped working after 90-days then the customer would be charged again for the replacement fee or they could buy a new product at a slightly lower price than retail.

I understand companies have to make money, but they are charging the customer for products and services that normally in years past  had no charge. No wonder this economy is in the crapper.

Before I continue, I will now add this disclaimer: This commentary, although is about how different companies dealing with the media are taking advantage of the consumer, may be seen by some as a rant on one or two companies in my examples, is not meant as such. I just had a lot of personal experience and/or was told by family members of their experiences with these companies.

I have never had much luck with cell-phones. I purchased my first cell phone and plan about two months before my 23rd birthday, due to being away from home for school and work. Since then I have gone through seven phones in almost 9 years. Now, before someone says something, I don't abuse my phones. They have never been dropped in the toilet, ran over by a car or thrown at a wall or anything like that. I didn't start text messaging until much later. So the phone was just used as a phone (imagine that concept!). The last two phones I went through were within a three week span over a month and a half ago. The phone I started with when we switched to AT&T lasted almost a year and a half (the longest any phone has lasted for me). The phone started beeping as if it were placed or removed from the charger while not being on the charger and couldn't make or receive calls. Since I had the warranty plan, I paid the deductible and was sent the next generation of the phone model (which I think is worse than the original, less storage space for photos) and within three weeks of getting it the slide up keyboard wouldn't fully slide up. By the way the phone was refurbished. Thankfully, since it was such a short time, I was sent the same model again (no charge because of it being so sort of a time) and couldn't be promised if it would be a brand new one or another refurbished model. So far no problems. Knock on wood.

Of course, since the employees are commissioned based at the AT&T stores, they want to try to line their pockets. Which I understand people have to make a living, but companies justify it to help their bottom line and pay less in wages to their employees. When I went in to talk to someone about the original phone's problems, instead of them trying to explain what was happening with my phone or offer a way to resolve the issue with the phone itself; I was first offered to buy a new phone with a new two-year agreement "since I am now eligible for an upgrade" at a higher price. When I explained I wasn't interested, he then proceeded to further explore my account and see that I had the insurance, why didn't they say at in the beginning? Hmm...

Since the agent and store wasn't going to be making money off of me due to warranty, the store didnt offer to replace the phone. They had to jump through hoops on the phone to a separate company that deals with the insurance to send me out a replacement phone. What great customer service. "We can't get you a phone today because we are greedy and already have your money from originally signing up with us and we could care less that you are not spending more money with us today so you are going to have to wait because you are not as important to us at this moment." They didn't say that of course, but that is what came across. Even AT&T's DSL internet service wanted to charge me for technical help since I didn't buy their overpriced modem/router and since I went and saved some money buying a different brand. They even told me that if I didn't get the modem working myself I would be charged for the service. I was able to do it without their help, but it is nice to know that it costs to do have anything done these days.

Greed from companies even go as far as getting people to pay for others bills. I can't remember exactly when, but seven years ago or so, my cousin, was getting payments taken out of his bank account from an internet provider (AOL, or someone similar) for his bill along with payments for people that were not paying. The company wanted their payment and didn't care where it came from. When my aunt got involved, they started dragging their feet on paying my cousin back for their error and ended up not giving him the whole amount back because their records only went back 6 months. They were taking payments out longer farther back than 6 months. It took threats to the company (taking the story to the news) to get them to pay up and then because of their "record keeping" my cousin wasn't fully paid back for all they took.

Recently, my wife and I decided to rearrange our den and living room setup by moving our television to the den. The room was originally the computer room and had a cable cord already in place to reconnect Directv. The problem occured when the cable line didn't have the signal from Directv, which we were told it have the signal did when it was installed. We were going to setup the wireless connection device for their "on-demand" programming and never did because of no phone line to hookup the DSL modem/router. I called Directv about the issue and was almost scolded for moving the device without a professional installer and was told that usually no signal was going to be going through that line if there was no television in that room. I counterdicted her statement by what the installer had told me. Even though the issue was their mistake, they were going to send someone out to change the issue since we were moving things around in the house, but of course at a fee. My wife was furious over this. They charged $49.99 to just have someone come out and change the lines in the house which shouldn't have been needed in the first place.

Directv wasn't going to waive the cost due to their error. The installer wasn't going to be out for a few days. I got thinking after the fact and figured out how to change the line myself with by only spending about $6.00.  Call #1 Once I got everything working, I called Directv within 14 hours from the call to order the installer and it was two days until they were supposed to come to cancel the request. The request was cancelled and I was I would be refunded or not be charged for the service. I looked on my bank statement online later that week. They charged me for the service that they didn't do on the date the service was to have taken place. Call #2  I called once I realized what had happened hoping for a quick resolution. Which didn't happen.

I was told originally in the first call due to their error that it would take up to 30 days for the refund. Once I explained that I canceled the request two days before the service that I shouldn't have been charged, they and stated it would be take three to five business days. I waited and no refund. Call #3 I was explained the request wasn't fully closed and was again told 72 hours for the refund to take place and was given a confirmation number. I allowed 96 hours before calling to ensure there wasn't a delay. Call #4 I still hadn't received the refund which is now going into over 20 full days since the request was cancelled. Again, I was told it wasn't fully canceled. I tried to speak to a manager and was told they were on the phone. Hmmm...wonder what it could be about. At this moment I was yelling on the phone (I work and have worked as a CSR in call centers and I know what they go through, but I had enough after 4 attempts to get a refund). I was switched around and was on hold longer than I was talking to someone and was told again it was officially resolved and said it would be another 72 hours before I would be refunded. I asked what guarantee I had this would be the final call I had to make to ensure I would get my refund. The person on the other end couldn't answer that question. Seems like they know how bad their customer service is regarding trying to refund a customer for a canceled and non-used service.

After all of this the refund was made the next day (which from the original call was getting into their 30 day window). Of course, I wasn't told how many hoops and time it took just to get it back.

My final comment is regarding the increase Netflix has placed on their services for DVD through the mail and their streaming service. I enjoyed Netflix, during the time I had it, I cancelled it way before this change was announced. I had to use the service for a class. I read comments on both sides of the argument that based on what they offer Netflix is a good service at a fair price. In a sense even their increase is justified to keep offering more options for their consumers. However, I see the other side of the coin too that their original low price is what made them the force that they are in media streaming and rental service. Even jumping up their prices for both hurt those that can't afford cable or satelite service and wanted to at least have other options for entertainment aside from their local channels. I think companies have their justifications for what they do to make them profitable and make their bottom like look good, but at what price though? The negative press Netflix got would if, I were someone considering it for the first time very concerned or even shy away from using them if their keep bumping up their prices. They already did at the end of last year.

Readers, I am not trying to be a sore person, but as a consumer trying to live within certain means and have some entertainment and the necessary means to communicate; companies need to start catering more to the ones that support them instead of turning against them just to have their bottom line.